Texas State Constitution

What sets Texas apart from the other 49 states is her unique history as an entity– a nation, a republic, a state. After Texas won her independence from Mexico in 1836, she became an independent nation called the Republic of Texas. She remained a nation  until 1845 when she was annexed into the United States as our 28th state. Between 1827 and 1876, Texas has had 7 constitutions.

Our seventh and most current constitution can be downloaded in PDF format below. In order to read the document you must download acrobat reader HERE.

1827 Constitution of Coahulia y Tejas – Recognizing Texas as a state of Mexico

1836 Constitution of the Republic – After Texas won her independence from Mexico, this constitution recognizes Texas as a Republic

Constitution of 1845 – Texas admitted into the United States as the 28th state

1861 Civil War Constitution – Succeeded from the Union to join the Confederacy

Constitution of 1866 – Texas wanted to be readmitted back to the Union after the Civil War

1869 Reconstruction Constitution – This constitution centralized power in the state government and weakened local governments during reconstruction

1876 Texas Constitution – The constitution was adopted at the end of Reconstruction. It has been amended many times since, and is still in effect. This current constitution is highly restrictive and anti-government. It places strict limitations on the powers of the governor, the legislature, and other state officials. Click on the link below to download:

Texas State Constitution (1876)